World Natural Heritage Dolomites

Stunning natural beauty


Mountains like Tre cime di Lavaredo, Sciliar, Alpe di Siusi and Catinaccio or the peaks of Odle, nature parks like Fanes-Sennes-Prags, the canyon of Bletterbach…

Famous names, well-known among passionate mountaineers and nature lovers. The Dolomites are unique and varied as regards their appearance and their geology. And they are a dreamlike scenery for hiking and biking, as well as the habitat of many wild animals and rare plant species.

In 2009, the UNESCO declared the Dolomites a World Natural Heritage site, together with some other mountain ranges. The reason of the committee: Their unique and monumental beauty.

South Tyrolean natural jewels

The following areas in South Tyrol are part of the World Natural Heritage site:

  • the canyon Bletterbach,
  • the nature park Trudner Horn,
  • the nature park Puez-Geisler,
  • the nature park Schlern-Rosengarten-Latemar,
  • the nature park Fanes-Sennes-Prags and
  • the nature park Sexten Dolomites with the famous “Drei Zinnen” (Three Peaks of Lavaredo)

Other areas pertaining to World Natural Heritage in the regions Venezien and Friaul and in the province Trient:

  • the region around the mountains Pelmo and Croda da Lago in Veneto between Cadore, Zoldano and Ampezzo,
  • the mountain group Marmolada with the highest peak of the Dolomites (3,343 m) and the largest glacier,
  • the mountains Pale di San Martino, Pale di San Lucano and the Belluno Dolomites,
  • the Dolomites in the provinces Pordenone and Udine,
  • and the northern Dolomites between South Tyrol and Veneto with the Ampezzo Dolomites.

The fact that the Dolomites are part of World Natural Heritage guarantees on one hand worldwide famousness and appreciation. On the other hand, this honorable title includes also the duty to protect nature and landscape, to care for it and to preserve it for ensuing ages.

Newsletter registration:

    Privacy & Imprint | P.I.: IT00150460210
    Powered by